Chinese Cucumber Salad

November 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

Cucumbers are refreshing.  I love them plain. I love them with Ranch Dressing.  I also enjoy a simple Chinese liang ban which means “cold mix” in its literal translation, or in Western food terminology: Chinese Cucumber Salad.

My grandma’s Chinese Cucumber Salad was mixed with thin glass noodles.  Her dressing had a touch of minced garlic, which I loved, but hated because of garlic breath.

So, here’s my version.  It’s super easy.

Dressing:

  • 1 Tablespoon of Soy Sauce +/- (I used low sodium)
  • A splash of Rice Vinegar
  • A Dash of Sesame Oil and Yuzu (Japanese Lemon Juice concenrate, optional)
  • A 1/2 Tablespoon +/- White Sugar
  • A squeeze of Siracha

Mix it all and taste it.  Modify as you wish.

Prepare the cucumber with or without the skin.  My grandma would thinly slice them into rice noodle like pieces. To save time. I slice and quart.  Put the cucumber in the bowl and dress it!

This will take you less than 10 minutes, and it serves 2.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chinese Cucumber Salad at Eat In. Eat Well..

meta